Planning Commission

The Erie County Planning Commission assists the Department of Planning and Community Development with the preparation of a comprehensive plan for the county, and also may make recommendations about zoning, subdivisions and land development. The commission consists of nine members and up to three alternates, all of whom serve four-year terms.

Commission Members

The commission may have up to 12 members. Of the 12 commissioners, seven represent each of the County Council districts and two represent the interests of municipalities located within the county. At least one but not more than three residents of Erie County serve as alternate members of the commission. All appointments are made by the County Executive with the advice and consent of County Council.


Regular meetings are held on the second Thursday of the month as listed below and begin at 6:00 p.m. The meetings are open to the public.

2023 Meetings Dates

Thursday, February 9, 2023 Planning Department
Thursday, April 13, 2023 Fairview Township Building
Thursday, June 8, 2023 Girard Borough Building – CANCELLED
Thursday, August 10, 2023 Erie County Conservation District
Thursday, October 12, 2023 First United Methodist Church, Union City
Thursday, December 14, 2023 Millcreek Township Building


2022 Meeting Dates


To Apply, Click Here