District 7 – Ellen Schauerman

Councilwoman Ellen Schauerman

Ellen Schauerman has represented Erie County Council’s District 7 since 2020. Ellen serves on the Election Board during non-election years and the Pleasant Ridge Manor Board of Trustees. She was elected by Council to serve as Chair of the Finance Committee for a second year. Schauerman is a liaison to the Board of Assessment Appeals Office, Erie County Domestic Relations Office, the Erie County Health Department, the Erie County Human Relations Commission, the Library Foundation, and the Pleasant Ridge Manor Workers Compensation Board. She was appointed in 2022 to the national Health Steering Committee by the National Association of Counties, on which she still actively serves. In 2023, she was also appointed to the state Human Services Committee by the County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania. She worked as Judge of Elections in Fairview Township for about 20 years prior to running for office.

She received a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from Edinboro University of Pennsylvania and works as a registered nurse in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at UPMC Hamot. She has served as a member and Chair of the UPMC Hamot Ethics Committee. She volunteers in the NODA (No one Dies Alone) Program at UPMC Hamot. She has served on the Board of Directors and committees for the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association. She was appointed to and serves on the Board of Trustees for the Nursing Foundation of Pennsylvania. She has been recognized in the past by nursing awards at the state and national level, as well as by UPMC.

She has also served on the board of directors of a local credit union.

In the midst of a pandemic year, Ellen served the community not only via her profession, but in the fight for tax relief and fiduciary responsibility to the citizens of Erie.

Schauerman lives in Fairview Township. She is widowed with two adult children.

About District 7

Albion Borough                      Conneaut Township

Cranesville Borough               Elk Creek Township

Girard Borough                       Fairview Township – 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Lake City Borough

McKean Borough                   Girard Township – 1, 2, 3

Platea Borough                       McKean Township 1, 2

Springfield Township

The term expires December 31, 2023.

District Maps