INFORMATION REGARDING CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS
Erie County Sheriff’s Office will be processing concealed carry permits under the following guidelines.
Because our office has determined that the process for obtaining a permit is quicker and smoother, we will continue the Monday through Friday walk in schedule based upon the first letter of your last name in the following manner.
This will include out of state residents applying for a Pennsylvania concealed carry permit.
- Monday A-B-C-D-E
- Tuesday F-G-H-I-J
- Wednesday K-L-M-N-O
- Thursday P-Q-R-S-T
- Friday U-V-W-X-Y-Z
If an applicant is unable to apply on their designated day of the week they may call the firearms office to make an appointment.
The hours of operation for our firearms division is 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. until 4:00 p.m. .
Please note that the office is closed during the lunch hour.
If you have any questions, please feel free to call our firearms office at 814-451-7444.
- Wolf Administration Grants Fifth Extension to License to Carry Firearm Permits
- Erie County, Pennsylvania – November 2020 Firearms Announcement
- Erie County Sheriff – Public Announcement – Forms, Permits, and Fees
- License to Carry – CCP Notice (07/29/2020)
- Firearm Concealed Carry Permit Extention (09/21/2020)
Information about applying for a firearm permit:
- All Pennsylvania applicants are required to have a valid Pennsylvania driver’s license or a government-issued photo ID and must pay a a fee of $20 (cash only) at the time the application is submitted.
- Non-residents are required to have a driver’s license from where they reside and a valid carrying permit from their respective state. The fee is also $20 (cash only) at the time the application.
- A photo will be taken at that time.
By state law, the Erie County Sheriff has the responsibility to process all applications for a license to carry firearms and to issue licenses to all those applicants who qualify, based on a background investigation done by the Sheriff’s Office. The sheriff also licenses all firearms dealers in Erie County. All licenses are processed through the Pennsylvania Instant Check System. Once an application for license to carry is filed, the sheriff has 45 days in which to do the investigation and notify the applicant. The permit is valid for five years. The sheriff has the ability to revoke the license at any time for misuse.
For more information on firearms licensing and safety, call the firearms division at 814-451-7444, Mondays through Fridays between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
- Application for License to Carry Firearms
- 2005 Amendment of Act 66 information
- Synopsis of Firearms Laws for Pennsylvania
- For civil process please call for fees.
- $2,000 per real estate sale