The Bureau of Occupational & Industrial Safety/Pennsafe Program is the state agency responsible for the collection and maintenance of Tier II data reported by Pennsylvania facilities and owners/operators under the federal Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA). Facilities must also file Tier II data with their Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) and with the fire department having jurisdiction in their area. The purpose of this Tier II form is to provide state and local officials and the public with specific information on hazardous chemicals present at your facility during the prior calendar year.
Tier II Reporting Requirements
Is your facility covered by the OSHA Hazard Communication Standard?
- If no: There is no reporting required.
- If yes: Does your facility have 500 pounds or the TPQ (whichever is less) of an extremely hazardous substance, and/or does your facility have 10,000 pounds or more of any OSHA hazardous chemical?
- If yes: You must file a Tier II Report annually by March 1 with the entities described above.
Hazardous Chemical Fee Submissions
Is your facility required to file a Tier II Report?
- If no: There is no fee required.
- If yes: Is your facility a family farm, service station, or state, federal or local government agency, and thus exempted by state law?
- If yes: There is no fee required.
- If no: A $10 fee is required to the state for each chemical reported on the Tier II form.
Erie County has established a fee of $75 per chemical reported on the Tier II form; if you have extremely hazardous substances (EHS), there is an additional $100 planning fee. You must file the form and pay the fee by March 1 annually.
Submit Tier II Chemical Inventory Form to any of the following agencies:
- Local fire department
- Local Emergency Planning Committee. Send to:
Erie County Emergency Management Agency
2880 Flower Road
Erie, PA 16509
- Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry
PO Box 68571
Harrisburg, PA 17106-8571