Board of Health

Erie County’s Board of Health is a governing board appointed by the County Executive, subject to approval by County Council. Members serve staggered four-year terms and act in an advisory capacity to the Department of Health director, who also serves on this board.

Board of Health Members

  • Bishop Clifton McNair III — term expires December 31, 2023
  • Richard A. Ortoski, D.O., chair — term expires December 31, 2025
  • Carla Picardo, M.D. — term expires December 31, 2025
  • Mary Jean Taylor, Ph.D. — term expires December 31, 2023
  • Timothy Zieziula, J.D. – term expires December 31, 2024


All meetings begin at 5:00 p.m. and will be conducted at the Erie County Department of Health, 606 West 2nd Street, Erie, PA 16507 in the 2nd floor conference room, unless otherwise advertised. To request participation information, please call 814-451-6700 no later than the Friday prior to the meeting.

2023 Meeting dates for Board of Health:

  • Monday, January 30, 2023
  • Monday, April 24, 2023
  • Monday, July 31, 2023
  • Monday, October 30, 2023

Meeting Minutes


To Apply, Click Here